from here

if you’re like me you’ll run Debian GNU/Linux upon a number of hosts
and at times you’d like to run a command or two upon all of those
hosts. There are several ways you can accomplish this, ranging from
manually connecting to each host in turn, to the more complex solutions
such as CFEngine or Puppet. Midway between the two you can use pssh to
run commands upon multiple hosts.

The pssh package is one of a number of tools which allows you to perform SSH connections in parallel across a number of machines.

Searching the Debian package repository shows several similar solutions:

<span class="prompt">me@home:~me@home:~$ apt-cache search cluster ssh
clusterssh - administer multiple ssh or rsh shells simultaneously
dish - the diligence/distributed shell for parallel sysadmin
dsh - dancer's shell, or distributed shell
kanif - cluster management and administration swiss army knife
libtaktuk2 - C bindings for taktuk
libtaktuk2-dev - C bindings for taktuk (development files)
pssh - Parallel versions of SSH-based tools
taktuk - efficient, large scale, parallel remote execution of commands

Of the tools I’ve only used pssh, so I’m unable to compare and contrast the alternatives. Still if you’re in the position where you’ve got SSH access secured via private keys and wish to run multiple commands remotely, or copy files, then it may be ideal for you.

Once installed the pssh package installs a number of new commands:

parallel-slurp

This command allows you to copy files from multipl remote hosts to the local system. We’ll demonstrate the usage shortly.

parallel-ssh

This command allows you to run commands upon a number of systems in parallel. We’ll also demonstrate this command shortly.

parallel-nuke

This command likes you kill processes on multiple remote systems.

parallel-scp

This is the opposite of parallel-slirp and allows you to copy a file, or files, to multiple remote systems.

General Usage

Each of the new commands installed by the pssh package will expect
to read a list of hostnames from a text file. This makes automated
usage a little bit more straightforward, and simplifies the
command-line parsing.

Running Commands On Multiple Hosts

The most basic usage is to simply run a command upon each host, and not report upon the output. For example given the file hosts.txt containing a number of hostnames we can run:

me@home:~$ parallel-ssh  -h hosts.txt uptime
[1] 18:29:35 [SUCCESS] gold.my.flat 22
[2] 18:29:35 [SUCCESS] silver.my.flat 22

This command didn’t show us the output of the “uptime” command as we’d expect. To do that you need to add the “-i” (inline) flag:

me@home:~$ parallel-ssh -i -h hosts.txt uptime
[1] 18:30:29 [SUCCESS] gold.my.flat 22
18:30:29 up 36 days, 5:21, 5 users, load average: 0.39, 0.24, 0.23
[2] 18:30:29 [SUCCESS] silver.my.flat 22
18:30:29 up 36 days, 4:45, 1 user, load average: 0.04, 0.02, 0.00

For most simple commands this will be fine, but for times when you wish to actually collect the output that is possible. Simply specify an output path with “-o path” – when you do this the output for each system will be written to a file:

me@home:~$ parallel-ssh -o uptime.out -h hosts.txt uptime
[1] 18:32:30 [SUCCESS] gold.my.flat 22
[2] 18:32:30 [SUCCESS] silver.my.flat 22
me@home:~$ ls uptime.output/
gold.my.flat silver.my.flat
me@home:~$ cat uptime.out/silver.my.flat
18:32:30 up 36 days, 4:47, 1 user, load average: 0.00, 0.01, 0.00

There are more options you can specify, such as the username to
connect as, and the port number to use. To see these options just run parallel-ssh with no arguments.

Copying Files From Multiple Hosts

Copying files works it much the same was as the execution of
commands we’ve just demonstrated. The only caveat is that you really do
need to specify a local directory – so that the file copied from the
remote host isn’t repeatedly overwritten.

So, to copy the file /etc/motd from each host in our hosts.txt file to the local system we’d run this:

me@home:~$ parallel-slurp -h hosts.txt  -L local.dir /etc/motd  motd
[1] 18:39:39 [SUCCESS] gold.my.flat 22
[2] 18:39:39 [SUCCESS] silver.my.flat 22

This will give us the file /etc/motd copied to the local system with the name motd inside the directory local.dir:

me@home:~$ tree local.dir/
local.dir/
|-- gold.my.flat
| `-- motd
`-- silver.my.flat
`-- motd

2 directories, 2 files

lt;/span> <span class="input">apt-cache search cluster ssh</span><br />clusterssh - administer multiple ssh or rsh shells simultaneously<br />dish - the diligence/distributed shell for parallel sysadmin<br />dsh - dancer's shell, or distributed shell<br />kanif - cluster management and administration swiss army knife<br />libtaktuk2 - C bindings for taktuk<br />libtaktuk2-dev - C bindings for taktuk (development files)<br />pssh - Parallel versions of SSH-based tools<br />taktuk - efficient, large scale, parallel remote execution of commands<br /></pre> <p>Of the tools I've only used <tt>pssh</tt>, so I'm unable to compare and contrast the alternatives. Still if you're in the position where you've <a href="http://www.debian-administration.org/articles/530" rel="nofollow">got SSH access secured via private keys</a> and wish to run multiple commands remotely, or copy files, then it may be ideal for you.</p> <p>Once installed the pssh package installs a number of new commands:</p> <dl><dt>parallel-slurp</dt><dd><p>This command allows you to copy files from multipl remote hosts to the local system. We'll demonstrate the usage shortly.</p></dd><dt>parallel-ssh</dt><dd><p>This command allows you to run commands upon a number of systems in parallel. We'll also demonstrate this command shortly.</p></dd><dt>parallel-nuke</dt><dd><p>This command likes you kill processes on multiple remote systems.</p></dd><dt>parallel-scp</dt><dd><p>This is the opposite of <tt>parallel-slirp</tt> and allows you to copy a file, or files, to multiple remote systems.</p></dd></dl> <p><b>General Usage</b></p> <blockquote> <p>Each of the new commands installed by the pssh package will expect to read a list of hostnames from a text file. This makes automated usage a little bit more straightforward, and simplifies the command-line parsing.</p> </blockquote> <p><b>Running Commands On Multiple Hosts</b></p> <blockquote> <p>The most basic usage is to simply run a command upon each host, and not report upon the output. For example given the file <tt>hosts.txt</tt> containing a number of hostnames we can run:</p> <pre class="terminal"><span class="prompt">me@home:~me@home:~$ apt-cache search cluster ssh
clusterssh - administer multiple ssh or rsh shells simultaneously
dish - the diligence/distributed shell for parallel sysadmin
dsh - dancer's shell, or distributed shell
kanif - cluster management and administration swiss army knife
libtaktuk2 - C bindings for taktuk
libtaktuk2-dev - C bindings for taktuk (development files)
pssh - Parallel versions of SSH-based tools
taktuk - efficient, large scale, parallel remote execution of commands

Of the tools I’ve only used pssh, so I’m unable to compare and contrast the alternatives. Still if you’re in the position where you’ve got SSH access secured via private keys and wish to run multiple commands remotely, or copy files, then it may be ideal for you.

Once installed the pssh package installs a number of new commands:

parallel-slurp

This command allows you to copy files from multipl remote hosts to the local system. We’ll demonstrate the usage shortly.

parallel-ssh

This command allows you to run commands upon a number of systems in parallel. We’ll also demonstrate this command shortly.

parallel-nuke

This command likes you kill processes on multiple remote systems.

parallel-scp

This is the opposite of parallel-slirp and allows you to copy a file, or files, to multiple remote systems.

General Usage

Each of the new commands installed by the pssh package will expect
to read a list of hostnames from a text file. This makes automated
usage a little bit more straightforward, and simplifies the
command-line parsing.

Running Commands On Multiple Hosts

The most basic usage is to simply run a command upon each host, and not report upon the output. For example given the file hosts.txt containing a number of hostnames we can run:

me@home:~$ parallel-ssh  -h hosts.txt uptime
[1] 18:29:35 [SUCCESS] gold.my.flat 22
[2] 18:29:35 [SUCCESS] silver.my.flat 22

This command didn’t show us the output of the “uptime” command as we’d expect. To do that you need to add the “-i” (inline) flag:

me@home:~$ parallel-ssh -i -h hosts.txt uptime
[1] 18:30:29 [SUCCESS] gold.my.flat 22
18:30:29 up 36 days, 5:21, 5 users, load average: 0.39, 0.24, 0.23
[2] 18:30:29 [SUCCESS] silver.my.flat 22
18:30:29 up 36 days, 4:45, 1 user, load average: 0.04, 0.02, 0.00

For most simple commands this will be fine, but for times when you wish to actually collect the output that is possible. Simply specify an output path with “-o path” – when you do this the output for each system will be written to a file:

me@home:~$ parallel-ssh -o uptime.out -h hosts.txt uptime
[1] 18:32:30 [SUCCESS] gold.my.flat 22
[2] 18:32:30 [SUCCESS] silver.my.flat 22
me@home:~$ ls uptime.output/
gold.my.flat silver.my.flat
me@home:~$ cat uptime.out/silver.my.flat
18:32:30 up 36 days, 4:47, 1 user, load average: 0.00, 0.01, 0.00

There are more options you can specify, such as the username to
connect as, and the port number to use. To see these options just run parallel-ssh with no arguments.

Copying Files From Multiple Hosts

Copying files works it much the same was as the execution of
commands we’ve just demonstrated. The only caveat is that you really do
need to specify a local directory – so that the file copied from the
remote host isn’t repeatedly overwritten.

So, to copy the file /etc/motd from each host in our hosts.txt file to the local system we’d run this:

me@home:~$ parallel-slurp -h hosts.txt  -L local.dir /etc/motd  motd
[1] 18:39:39 [SUCCESS] gold.my.flat 22
[2] 18:39:39 [SUCCESS] silver.my.flat 22

This will give us the file /etc/motd copied to the local system with the name motd inside the directory local.dir:

me@home:~$ tree local.dir/
local.dir/
|-- gold.my.flat
| `-- motd
`-- silver.my.flat
`-- motd

2 directories, 2 files

lt;/span> <span class="input">parallel-ssh -h hosts.txt uptime</span><br />[1] 18:29:35 [SUCCESS] gold.my.flat 22<br />[2] 18:29:35 [SUCCESS] silver.my.flat 22<br /></pre> <p>This command didn't show us the output of the "<tt>uptime</tt>" command as we'd expect. To do that you need to add the "<tt>-i</tt>" (inline) flag:</p> <pre class="terminal"><span class="prompt">me@home:~me@home:~$ apt-cache search cluster ssh
clusterssh - administer multiple ssh or rsh shells simultaneously
dish - the diligence/distributed shell for parallel sysadmin
dsh - dancer's shell, or distributed shell
kanif - cluster management and administration swiss army knife
libtaktuk2 - C bindings for taktuk
libtaktuk2-dev - C bindings for taktuk (development files)
pssh - Parallel versions of SSH-based tools
taktuk - efficient, large scale, parallel remote execution of commands

Of the tools I’ve only used pssh, so I’m unable to compare and contrast the alternatives. Still if you’re in the position where you’ve got SSH access secured via private keys and wish to run multiple commands remotely, or copy files, then it may be ideal for you.

Once installed the pssh package installs a number of new commands:

parallel-slurp

This command allows you to copy files from multipl remote hosts to the local system. We’ll demonstrate the usage shortly.

parallel-ssh

This command allows you to run commands upon a number of systems in parallel. We’ll also demonstrate this command shortly.

parallel-nuke

This command likes you kill processes on multiple remote systems.

parallel-scp

This is the opposite of parallel-slirp and allows you to copy a file, or files, to multiple remote systems.

General Usage

Each of the new commands installed by the pssh package will expect
to read a list of hostnames from a text file. This makes automated
usage a little bit more straightforward, and simplifies the
command-line parsing.

Running Commands On Multiple Hosts

The most basic usage is to simply run a command upon each host, and not report upon the output. For example given the file hosts.txt containing a number of hostnames we can run:

me@home:~$ parallel-ssh  -h hosts.txt uptime
[1] 18:29:35 [SUCCESS] gold.my.flat 22
[2] 18:29:35 [SUCCESS] silver.my.flat 22

This command didn’t show us the output of the “uptime” command as we’d expect. To do that you need to add the “-i” (inline) flag:

me@home:~$ parallel-ssh -i -h hosts.txt uptime
[1] 18:30:29 [SUCCESS] gold.my.flat 22
18:30:29 up 36 days, 5:21, 5 users, load average: 0.39, 0.24, 0.23
[2] 18:30:29 [SUCCESS] silver.my.flat 22
18:30:29 up 36 days, 4:45, 1 user, load average: 0.04, 0.02, 0.00

For most simple commands this will be fine, but for times when you wish to actually collect the output that is possible. Simply specify an output path with “-o path” – when you do this the output for each system will be written to a file:

me@home:~$ parallel-ssh -o uptime.out -h hosts.txt uptime
[1] 18:32:30 [SUCCESS] gold.my.flat 22
[2] 18:32:30 [SUCCESS] silver.my.flat 22
me@home:~$ ls uptime.output/
gold.my.flat silver.my.flat
me@home:~$ cat uptime.out/silver.my.flat
18:32:30 up 36 days, 4:47, 1 user, load average: 0.00, 0.01, 0.00

There are more options you can specify, such as the username to
connect as, and the port number to use. To see these options just run parallel-ssh with no arguments.

Copying Files From Multiple Hosts

Copying files works it much the same was as the execution of
commands we’ve just demonstrated. The only caveat is that you really do
need to specify a local directory – so that the file copied from the
remote host isn’t repeatedly overwritten.

So, to copy the file /etc/motd from each host in our hosts.txt file to the local system we’d run this:

me@home:~$ parallel-slurp -h hosts.txt  -L local.dir /etc/motd  motd
[1] 18:39:39 [SUCCESS] gold.my.flat 22
[2] 18:39:39 [SUCCESS] silver.my.flat 22

This will give us the file /etc/motd copied to the local system with the name motd inside the directory local.dir:

me@home:~$ tree local.dir/
local.dir/
|-- gold.my.flat
| `-- motd
`-- silver.my.flat
`-- motd

2 directories, 2 files

lt;/span> <span class="input">parallel-ssh -i -h hosts.txt uptime</span><br />[1] 18:30:29 [SUCCESS] gold.my.flat 22<br /> 18:30:29 up 36 days, 5:21, 5 users, load average: 0.39, 0.24, 0.23<br />[2] 18:30:29 [SUCCESS] silver.my.flat 22<br /> 18:30:29 up 36 days, 4:45, 1 user, load average: 0.04, 0.02, 0.00<br /></pre> <p>For most simple commands this will be fine, but for times when you wish to actually <i>collect</i> the output that is possible. Simply specify an output path with "<tt>-o path</tt>" - when you do this the output for each system will be written to a file:</p> <pre class="terminal"><span class="prompt">me@home:~me@home:~$ apt-cache search cluster ssh
clusterssh - administer multiple ssh or rsh shells simultaneously
dish - the diligence/distributed shell for parallel sysadmin
dsh - dancer's shell, or distributed shell
kanif - cluster management and administration swiss army knife
libtaktuk2 - C bindings for taktuk
libtaktuk2-dev - C bindings for taktuk (development files)
pssh - Parallel versions of SSH-based tools
taktuk - efficient, large scale, parallel remote execution of commands

Of the tools I’ve only used pssh, so I’m unable to compare and contrast the alternatives. Still if you’re in the position where you’ve got SSH access secured via private keys and wish to run multiple commands remotely, or copy files, then it may be ideal for you.

Once installed the pssh package installs a number of new commands:

parallel-slurp

This command allows you to copy files from multipl remote hosts to the local system. We’ll demonstrate the usage shortly.

parallel-ssh

This command allows you to run commands upon a number of systems in parallel. We’ll also demonstrate this command shortly.

parallel-nuke

This command likes you kill processes on multiple remote systems.

parallel-scp

This is the opposite of parallel-slirp and allows you to copy a file, or files, to multiple remote systems.

General Usage

Each of the new commands installed by the pssh package will expect
to read a list of hostnames from a text file. This makes automated
usage a little bit more straightforward, and simplifies the
command-line parsing.

Running Commands On Multiple Hosts

The most basic usage is to simply run a command upon each host, and not report upon the output. For example given the file hosts.txt containing a number of hostnames we can run:

me@home:~$ parallel-ssh  -h hosts.txt uptime
[1] 18:29:35 [SUCCESS] gold.my.flat 22
[2] 18:29:35 [SUCCESS] silver.my.flat 22

This command didn’t show us the output of the “uptime” command as we’d expect. To do that you need to add the “-i” (inline) flag:

me@home:~$ parallel-ssh -i -h hosts.txt uptime
[1] 18:30:29 [SUCCESS] gold.my.flat 22
18:30:29 up 36 days, 5:21, 5 users, load average: 0.39, 0.24, 0.23
[2] 18:30:29 [SUCCESS] silver.my.flat 22
18:30:29 up 36 days, 4:45, 1 user, load average: 0.04, 0.02, 0.00

For most simple commands this will be fine, but for times when you wish to actually collect the output that is possible. Simply specify an output path with “-o path” – when you do this the output for each system will be written to a file:

me@home:~$ parallel-ssh -o uptime.out -h hosts.txt uptime
[1] 18:32:30 [SUCCESS] gold.my.flat 22
[2] 18:32:30 [SUCCESS] silver.my.flat 22
me@home:~$ ls uptime.output/
gold.my.flat silver.my.flat
me@home:~$ cat uptime.out/silver.my.flat
18:32:30 up 36 days, 4:47, 1 user, load average: 0.00, 0.01, 0.00

There are more options you can specify, such as the username to
connect as, and the port number to use. To see these options just run parallel-ssh with no arguments.

Copying Files From Multiple Hosts

Copying files works it much the same was as the execution of
commands we’ve just demonstrated. The only caveat is that you really do
need to specify a local directory – so that the file copied from the
remote host isn’t repeatedly overwritten.

So, to copy the file /etc/motd from each host in our hosts.txt file to the local system we’d run this:

me@home:~$ parallel-slurp -h hosts.txt  -L local.dir /etc/motd  motd
[1] 18:39:39 [SUCCESS] gold.my.flat 22
[2] 18:39:39 [SUCCESS] silver.my.flat 22

This will give us the file /etc/motd copied to the local system with the name motd inside the directory local.dir:

me@home:~$ tree local.dir/
local.dir/
|-- gold.my.flat
| `-- motd
`-- silver.my.flat
`-- motd

2 directories, 2 files

lt;/span> <span class="input">parallel-ssh -o uptime.out -h hosts.txt uptime</span><br />[1] 18:32:30 [SUCCESS] gold.my.flat 22<br />[2] 18:32:30 [SUCCESS] silver.my.flat 22<br /><span class="prompt">me@home:~me@home:~$ apt-cache search cluster ssh
clusterssh - administer multiple ssh or rsh shells simultaneously
dish - the diligence/distributed shell for parallel sysadmin
dsh - dancer's shell, or distributed shell
kanif - cluster management and administration swiss army knife
libtaktuk2 - C bindings for taktuk
libtaktuk2-dev - C bindings for taktuk (development files)
pssh - Parallel versions of SSH-based tools
taktuk - efficient, large scale, parallel remote execution of commands

Of the tools I’ve only used pssh, so I’m unable to compare and contrast the alternatives. Still if you’re in the position where you’ve got SSH access secured via private keys and wish to run multiple commands remotely, or copy files, then it may be ideal for you.

Once installed the pssh package installs a number of new commands:

parallel-slurp

This command allows you to copy files from multipl remote hosts to the local system. We’ll demonstrate the usage shortly.

parallel-ssh

This command allows you to run commands upon a number of systems in parallel. We’ll also demonstrate this command shortly.

parallel-nuke

This command likes you kill processes on multiple remote systems.

parallel-scp

This is the opposite of parallel-slirp and allows you to copy a file, or files, to multiple remote systems.

General Usage

Each of the new commands installed by the pssh package will expect
to read a list of hostnames from a text file. This makes automated
usage a little bit more straightforward, and simplifies the
command-line parsing.

Running Commands On Multiple Hosts

The most basic usage is to simply run a command upon each host, and not report upon the output. For example given the file hosts.txt containing a number of hostnames we can run:

me@home:~$ parallel-ssh  -h hosts.txt uptime
[1] 18:29:35 [SUCCESS] gold.my.flat 22
[2] 18:29:35 [SUCCESS] silver.my.flat 22

This command didn’t show us the output of the “uptime” command as we’d expect. To do that you need to add the “-i” (inline) flag:

me@home:~$ parallel-ssh -i -h hosts.txt uptime
[1] 18:30:29 [SUCCESS] gold.my.flat 22
18:30:29 up 36 days, 5:21, 5 users, load average: 0.39, 0.24, 0.23
[2] 18:30:29 [SUCCESS] silver.my.flat 22
18:30:29 up 36 days, 4:45, 1 user, load average: 0.04, 0.02, 0.00

For most simple commands this will be fine, but for times when you wish to actually collect the output that is possible. Simply specify an output path with “-o path” – when you do this the output for each system will be written to a file:

me@home:~$ parallel-ssh -o uptime.out -h hosts.txt uptime
[1] 18:32:30 [SUCCESS] gold.my.flat 22
[2] 18:32:30 [SUCCESS] silver.my.flat 22
me@home:~$ ls uptime.output/
gold.my.flat silver.my.flat
me@home:~$ cat uptime.out/silver.my.flat
18:32:30 up 36 days, 4:47, 1 user, load average: 0.00, 0.01, 0.00

There are more options you can specify, such as the username to
connect as, and the port number to use. To see these options just run parallel-ssh with no arguments.

Copying Files From Multiple Hosts

Copying files works it much the same was as the execution of
commands we’ve just demonstrated. The only caveat is that you really do
need to specify a local directory – so that the file copied from the
remote host isn’t repeatedly overwritten.

So, to copy the file /etc/motd from each host in our hosts.txt file to the local system we’d run this:

me@home:~$ parallel-slurp -h hosts.txt  -L local.dir /etc/motd  motd
[1] 18:39:39 [SUCCESS] gold.my.flat 22
[2] 18:39:39 [SUCCESS] silver.my.flat 22

This will give us the file /etc/motd copied to the local system with the name motd inside the directory local.dir:

me@home:~$ tree local.dir/
local.dir/
|-- gold.my.flat
| `-- motd
`-- silver.my.flat
`-- motd

2 directories, 2 files

lt;/span> <span class="input">ls uptime.output/</span><br />gold.my.flat silver.my.flat<br /><span class="prompt">me@home:~me@home:~$ apt-cache search cluster ssh
clusterssh - administer multiple ssh or rsh shells simultaneously
dish - the diligence/distributed shell for parallel sysadmin
dsh - dancer's shell, or distributed shell
kanif - cluster management and administration swiss army knife
libtaktuk2 - C bindings for taktuk
libtaktuk2-dev - C bindings for taktuk (development files)
pssh - Parallel versions of SSH-based tools
taktuk - efficient, large scale, parallel remote execution of commands

Of the tools I’ve only used pssh, so I’m unable to compare and contrast the alternatives. Still if you’re in the position where you’ve got SSH access secured via private keys and wish to run multiple commands remotely, or copy files, then it may be ideal for you.

Once installed the pssh package installs a number of new commands:

parallel-slurp

This command allows you to copy files from multipl remote hosts to the local system. We’ll demonstrate the usage shortly.

parallel-ssh

This command allows you to run commands upon a number of systems in parallel. We’ll also demonstrate this command shortly.

parallel-nuke

This command likes you kill processes on multiple remote systems.

parallel-scp

This is the opposite of parallel-slirp and allows you to copy a file, or files, to multiple remote systems.

General Usage

Each of the new commands installed by the pssh package will expect
to read a list of hostnames from a text file. This makes automated
usage a little bit more straightforward, and simplifies the
command-line parsing.

Running Commands On Multiple Hosts

The most basic usage is to simply run a command upon each host, and not report upon the output. For example given the file hosts.txt containing a number of hostnames we can run:

me@home:~$ parallel-ssh  -h hosts.txt uptime
[1] 18:29:35 [SUCCESS] gold.my.flat 22
[2] 18:29:35 [SUCCESS] silver.my.flat 22

This command didn’t show us the output of the “uptime” command as we’d expect. To do that you need to add the “-i” (inline) flag:

me@home:~$ parallel-ssh -i -h hosts.txt uptime
[1] 18:30:29 [SUCCESS] gold.my.flat 22
18:30:29 up 36 days, 5:21, 5 users, load average: 0.39, 0.24, 0.23
[2] 18:30:29 [SUCCESS] silver.my.flat 22
18:30:29 up 36 days, 4:45, 1 user, load average: 0.04, 0.02, 0.00

For most simple commands this will be fine, but for times when you wish to actually collect the output that is possible. Simply specify an output path with “-o path” – when you do this the output for each system will be written to a file:

me@home:~$ parallel-ssh -o uptime.out -h hosts.txt uptime
[1] 18:32:30 [SUCCESS] gold.my.flat 22
[2] 18:32:30 [SUCCESS] silver.my.flat 22
me@home:~$ ls uptime.output/
gold.my.flat silver.my.flat
me@home:~$ cat uptime.out/silver.my.flat
18:32:30 up 36 days, 4:47, 1 user, load average: 0.00, 0.01, 0.00

There are more options you can specify, such as the username to
connect as, and the port number to use. To see these options just run parallel-ssh with no arguments.

Copying Files From Multiple Hosts

Copying files works it much the same was as the execution of
commands we’ve just demonstrated. The only caveat is that you really do
need to specify a local directory – so that the file copied from the
remote host isn’t repeatedly overwritten.

So, to copy the file /etc/motd from each host in our hosts.txt file to the local system we’d run this:

me@home:~$ parallel-slurp -h hosts.txt  -L local.dir /etc/motd  motd
[1] 18:39:39 [SUCCESS] gold.my.flat 22
[2] 18:39:39 [SUCCESS] silver.my.flat 22

This will give us the file /etc/motd copied to the local system with the name motd inside the directory local.dir:

me@home:~$ tree local.dir/
local.dir/
|-- gold.my.flat
| `-- motd
`-- silver.my.flat
`-- motd

2 directories, 2 files

lt;/span> <span class="input">cat uptime.out/silver.my.flat</span><br /> 18:32:30 up 36 days, 4:47, 1 user, load average: 0.00, 0.01, 0.00<br /></pre> <p>There are more options you can specify, such as the username to connect as, and the port number to use. To see these options just run <tt>parallel-ssh</tt> with no arguments.</p> </blockquote> <p><b>Copying Files From Multiple Hosts</b></p> <blockquote> <p>Copying files works it much the same was as the execution of commands we've just demonstrated. The only caveat is that you really do need to specify a local directory - so that the file copied from the remote host isn't repeatedly overwritten.</p> <p>So, to copy the file <tt>/etc/motd</tt> from each host in our <tt>hosts.txt</tt> file to the local system we'd run this:</p> <pre class="terminal"><span class="prompt">me@home:~me@home:~$ apt-cache search cluster ssh
clusterssh - administer multiple ssh or rsh shells simultaneously
dish - the diligence/distributed shell for parallel sysadmin
dsh - dancer's shell, or distributed shell
kanif - cluster management and administration swiss army knife
libtaktuk2 - C bindings for taktuk
libtaktuk2-dev - C bindings for taktuk (development files)
pssh - Parallel versions of SSH-based tools
taktuk - efficient, large scale, parallel remote execution of commands

Of the tools I’ve only used pssh, so I’m unable to compare and contrast the alternatives. Still if you’re in the position where you’ve got SSH access secured via private keys and wish to run multiple commands remotely, or copy files, then it may be ideal for you.

Once installed the pssh package installs a number of new commands:

parallel-slurp

This command allows you to copy files from multipl remote hosts to the local system. We’ll demonstrate the usage shortly.

parallel-ssh

This command allows you to run commands upon a number of systems in parallel. We’ll also demonstrate this command shortly.

parallel-nuke

This command likes you kill processes on multiple remote systems.

parallel-scp

This is the opposite of parallel-slirp and allows you to copy a file, or files, to multiple remote systems.

General Usage

Each of the new commands installed by the pssh package will expect
to read a list of hostnames from a text file. This makes automated
usage a little bit more straightforward, and simplifies the
command-line parsing.

Running Commands On Multiple Hosts

The most basic usage is to simply run a command upon each host, and not report upon the output. For example given the file hosts.txt containing a number of hostnames we can run:

me@home:~$ parallel-ssh  -h hosts.txt uptime
[1] 18:29:35 [SUCCESS] gold.my.flat 22
[2] 18:29:35 [SUCCESS] silver.my.flat 22

This command didn’t show us the output of the “uptime” command as we’d expect. To do that you need to add the “-i” (inline) flag:

me@home:~$ parallel-ssh -i -h hosts.txt uptime
[1] 18:30:29 [SUCCESS] gold.my.flat 22
18:30:29 up 36 days, 5:21, 5 users, load average: 0.39, 0.24, 0.23
[2] 18:30:29 [SUCCESS] silver.my.flat 22
18:30:29 up 36 days, 4:45, 1 user, load average: 0.04, 0.02, 0.00

For most simple commands this will be fine, but for times when you wish to actually collect the output that is possible. Simply specify an output path with “-o path” – when you do this the output for each system will be written to a file:

me@home:~$ parallel-ssh -o uptime.out -h hosts.txt uptime
[1] 18:32:30 [SUCCESS] gold.my.flat 22
[2] 18:32:30 [SUCCESS] silver.my.flat 22
me@home:~$ ls uptime.output/
gold.my.flat silver.my.flat
me@home:~$ cat uptime.out/silver.my.flat
18:32:30 up 36 days, 4:47, 1 user, load average: 0.00, 0.01, 0.00

There are more options you can specify, such as the username to
connect as, and the port number to use. To see these options just run parallel-ssh with no arguments.

Copying Files From Multiple Hosts

Copying files works it much the same was as the execution of
commands we’ve just demonstrated. The only caveat is that you really do
need to specify a local directory – so that the file copied from the
remote host isn’t repeatedly overwritten.

So, to copy the file /etc/motd from each host in our hosts.txt file to the local system we’d run this:

me@home:~$ parallel-slurp -h hosts.txt  -L local.dir /etc/motd  motd
[1] 18:39:39 [SUCCESS] gold.my.flat 22
[2] 18:39:39 [SUCCESS] silver.my.flat 22

This will give us the file /etc/motd copied to the local system with the name motd inside the directory local.dir:

me@home:~$ tree local.dir/
local.dir/
|-- gold.my.flat
| `-- motd
`-- silver.my.flat
`-- motd

2 directories, 2 files

lt;/span> <span class="input">parallel-slurp -h hosts.txt -L local.dir /etc/motd motd</span><br />[1] 18:39:39 [SUCCESS] gold.my.flat 22<br />[2] 18:39:39 [SUCCESS] silver.my.flat 22<br /></pre> <p>This will give us the file <tt>/etc/motd</tt> copied to the local system with the name <tt>motd</tt> inside the directory <tt>local.dir</tt>:</p> <pre class="terminal"><span class="prompt">me@home:~me@home:~$ apt-cache search cluster ssh
clusterssh - administer multiple ssh or rsh shells simultaneously
dish - the diligence/distributed shell for parallel sysadmin
dsh - dancer's shell, or distributed shell
kanif - cluster management and administration swiss army knife
libtaktuk2 - C bindings for taktuk
libtaktuk2-dev - C bindings for taktuk (development files)
pssh - Parallel versions of SSH-based tools
taktuk - efficient, large scale, parallel remote execution of commands

Of the tools I’ve only used pssh, so I’m unable to compare and contrast the alternatives. Still if you’re in the position where you’ve got SSH access secured via private keys and wish to run multiple commands remotely, or copy files, then it may be ideal for you.

Once installed the pssh package installs a number of new commands:

parallel-slurp

This command allows you to copy files from multipl remote hosts to the local system. We’ll demonstrate the usage shortly.

parallel-ssh

This command allows you to run commands upon a number of systems in parallel. We’ll also demonstrate this command shortly.

parallel-nuke

This command likes you kill processes on multiple remote systems.

parallel-scp

This is the opposite of parallel-slirp and allows you to copy a file, or files, to multiple remote systems.

General Usage

Each of the new commands installed by the pssh package will expect
to read a list of hostnames from a text file. This makes automated
usage a little bit more straightforward, and simplifies the
command-line parsing.

Running Commands On Multiple Hosts

The most basic usage is to simply run a command upon each host, and not report upon the output. For example given the file hosts.txt containing a number of hostnames we can run:

me@home:~$ parallel-ssh  -h hosts.txt uptime
[1] 18:29:35 [SUCCESS] gold.my.flat 22
[2] 18:29:35 [SUCCESS] silver.my.flat 22

This command didn’t show us the output of the “uptime” command as we’d expect. To do that you need to add the “-i” (inline) flag:

me@home:~$ parallel-ssh -i -h hosts.txt uptime
[1] 18:30:29 [SUCCESS] gold.my.flat 22
18:30:29 up 36 days, 5:21, 5 users, load average: 0.39, 0.24, 0.23
[2] 18:30:29 [SUCCESS] silver.my.flat 22
18:30:29 up 36 days, 4:45, 1 user, load average: 0.04, 0.02, 0.00

For most simple commands this will be fine, but for times when you wish to actually collect the output that is possible. Simply specify an output path with “-o path” – when you do this the output for each system will be written to a file:

me@home:~$ parallel-ssh -o uptime.out -h hosts.txt uptime
[1] 18:32:30 [SUCCESS] gold.my.flat 22
[2] 18:32:30 [SUCCESS] silver.my.flat 22
me@home:~$ ls uptime.output/
gold.my.flat silver.my.flat
me@home:~$ cat uptime.out/silver.my.flat
18:32:30 up 36 days, 4:47, 1 user, load average: 0.00, 0.01, 0.00

There are more options you can specify, such as the username to
connect as, and the port number to use. To see these options just run parallel-ssh with no arguments.

Copying Files From Multiple Hosts

Copying files works it much the same was as the execution of
commands we’ve just demonstrated. The only caveat is that you really do
need to specify a local directory – so that the file copied from the
remote host isn’t repeatedly overwritten.

So, to copy the file /etc/motd from each host in our hosts.txt file to the local system we’d run this:

me@home:~$ parallel-slurp -h hosts.txt  -L local.dir /etc/motd  motd
[1] 18:39:39 [SUCCESS] gold.my.flat 22
[2] 18:39:39 [SUCCESS] silver.my.flat 22

This will give us the file /etc/motd copied to the local system with the name motd inside the directory local.dir:

me@home:~$ tree local.dir/
local.dir/
|-- gold.my.flat
| `-- motd
`-- silver.my.flat
`-- motd

2 directories, 2 files

lt;/span> <span class="input">tree local.dir/</span><br />local.dir/<br />|-- gold.my.flat<br />| `-- motd<br />`-- silver.my.flat<br /> `-- motd<br /><br />2 directories, 2 files<br /><br />

As you can see there has been one level of subdirectory created for each hostname we copied from.

There are also several more options that might be useful to explore with this tool, including the -r (recursive) option which should be familiar to you from the scp command itself.

Note that parallel-slurp only copies from (multiple) systems. To copy files to to (multiple) systems you’ll want to use the parallel-scp tool.

In conclusion this tool is worth exploring if you manage multiple systems and already have SSH key-based authentication setup.

Share/Save/Bookmark

